Roanoke-Chowan Community College Foundation

In an effort to increase funding for both academic and community programs, Roanoke- Chowan Technical Institute created an independent foundation on February 17, 1975. Led by Robert H. Jernigan, Jr. and H.C. Freeland, two prominent members of the Ahoskie area, the Roanoke-Chowan Technical Institute Foundation began raising money to be used for student scholarships. The Foundation’s original board consisted of 40 members who represented Hertford, Bertie, and Northampton counties.

In 1985, the by-laws were amended to create the name The Roanoke-Chowan Technical College Foundation, reflecting a change in the name and mission of the College. By this time, the foundation was providing emergency loans for tuition and books to needy students. A number of annual scholarships were also created. These included the Freeman Scholarship, named for Julian P. Freeman; the Jernigan Scholarship, named for Roberts Jernigan, one of the original founders of the foundation; the Jack Young Scholarship, created to honor the college’s first president; and the Sylvia Flack Hunt Scholarship, established by nursing alumni in honor of the program’s founder, Sylvia Flack Hunt. The foundation was also supporting an annual Spring Gala fund raiser for the community. By 1987, the foundation had launched its first comprehensive fund drive, Project 660. Although the project did not reach its goal of $660,000, it did raise money for student scholarships; equipment for the Automotive, Welding, and Light Construction programs; and library acquisitions. To oversee the day-to-day operations of the foundation, Margaret Freeman was hired as its first executive director.

In 1990, the foundation once again changed its name to mirror the name change of the college. On May 24 of that year, it became the Roanoke-Chowan Community College Foundation. Today the foundation continues to offer scholarships and funding for special projects requested by the College.

Foundation Members

Mr. Quinton Turman (Chair.)
Mr. James Eure (Vice-Chair.)
Mrs. Wendy Ruffin-Barnes
Mr. Andre Lassiter
Ms. Lillie Owens-White
Ms. Amy Gillus
Mr. Bill Early
Mr. Curtis Wynn
Mrs. Donna Veale

Scholarships Offered

Scholarships (See Student Development Services/Financial Aid for more information.)

  •  Roberts H. Jernigan, Jr. Scholarship
  •  Julian P. Freeman Scholarship
  •  Freeman Family Scholarship
  •  Harold E. Mitchell Scholarship
  •  John W. “Jack” Young, Jr. Scholarship
  • Hugh C. Freeland Scholarship
  •  James Irvin Alexander Scholarship
  •  DuPont L. Davis Scholarship
  •  Hertford County Commissioners’ Scholarship
  •  Northhampton County Farm Bureau Scholarship